musichack – hacking audio…one sample at a time

25.April.2009

musichack’s got problems, you have a solution.

Filed under: Uncategorized — dewdude @ 5.36.pm

it appears as musichack has encountered some major issues.

no, it’s not an issue of funding. I personally have enough in my personal fundage to keep this running (we’re still on wordpress which is free, but we do own a server)

no, this problem is brought to us courtsey of Acer Computer Co, makers of unreliable pieces of crap you call computers.

this entire place, tutorials, site, everything, was done on my Acer Aspire 5100 laptop. it used to be a pretty reliable machine, then it started developing problems, when one has PCI device conflicts on a laptop, something is amiss. the problem started creeping up months ago but slowly got worse and worse.

attempts to contact acer about this problem ranged from blatent lack of responses, to canned responses, and ending with a “it’s not our problem, it’s abuse”.

turns out a LOT of people have had the EXACT same issue on the Aspire 5100s – naturally with no solution. I read some of the claimed fixes…which included flashing the bios to the 3.13 version from europe…to blaming the BIOS chip itself to claiming “you send it to me and I can fix it”. none of these solutions sounded feasible at all after doing my own research.

the large culprit I can gather from other peoples reports and my own expierence is that it’s a failing chipset combined with a faulty bga (ball grid array) attachment procedure, compounded with a very cheap minipci connector. It’s the main reason I say any any repair attempts are bunk.

Acer, if you’ve released a bunch of laptops with bad bga’s and/or defective chipset, shrugging it off because the failure will happen after warrenty ends IS NOT the way to handle things. think about your reputation, it’s tarnished in my book. you think I’M ever going to buy another one of your products? You think I’m ever going to stop saying how much you guys can’t make a decent computer? No, I won’t.

Here’s the inventory of remaining hardware:

Atheros minipci wlan card
2x2gb ddr2-667 ram
80gb sata hard drive
AMD Turion 64 2.0 ghz
Matushita DL DVD-Writer

Im looking for guts mostly, or what one might consider guts. Would like to reuse the ram, so no worries if it’s missing, same with HDD. The DVD writer im not sure if it’ll swap out…same with my 15.4″ LCD (which looks like a rainbow sneezed on it….yet another semi-defective acer part).

If you’ve got something you think might work for me and something you’d want to part with, I’m VERY anxious to talk to you about striking up a deal. dewdude@gmail.com and put in the subject “musichack”

thanks,
Jay

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

